top of page

Why You Should Buy The Sims 4

I will not be posting articles or blogs listing and complaining about all the features that are left out of The Sims 4 Base Game or speculation of what will and will not make it too the series. But here is a post from Graham Nardone about why you should buy The Sims 4.

Inge Jones: Please, Graham, tell us what is the reason to upgrade from any earlier Sims game (other than maybe TS1) to this one?

"I know you’ve already heard and read the official "pitch" from numerous places, so instead I’ll offer this… Four main entries into the franchise and it becomes more of a challenge to explain the nuances of what’s different from one to the next. For example, we say something along the line of, "hey, these new emotions Sims have are pretty rad", and people counter with, "but my Sims have always had emotions". Well… ok, maybe we did a convincing job selling that fiction in previous games, but truly your Sims haven’t had anything like this before. But the conversation then changes into discussing what is or isn’t there and the minutiae of differences in each feature along some scale because the easiest way to try and understand something new is to compare and contrast it to what came before. Looking at a list of features on paper may tell you what you can expect to find in the game, but it doesn’t tell you if it’s fun to play. That said, if there’s something that’s not in the game at launch and that’s a deal breaker for you then I understand and respect your decision, and I hope you’ll give the game another look down the line.

What encourages me is speaking with players after they’ve had some hands on time with the game to wrap their head around those differences and better understand what it brings to the overall experience. I wasn’t involved in any official way in the Creator’s Camp, but I poked my head in a few times to get a general sense of how things were going, and I came away with the impression that a lot of the talking points we’ve used to discuss what this game is were being validated and appreciated after people had time to play. I personally find myself enjoying the deep socialization between Sims and the enhanced sense of an intimate community of neighbors and friends. Those were aspects of The Sims 3 that never particularly resonated with me, so in a number of ways The Sims 4 evolved my Sims experience to offer something more than just a five year leap in technology.” —Graham Nardone

CONNECT WITH SIMS4NETWORK

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Tumblr - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

© 2014 by Sims4networK

 

bottom of page